Looking back moving forward.

It’s been too long since I last picked up this journal. Even longer since I’ve bothered to look at it or even write. It just stopped being important for so long. Too much has really happened for me to put it in on entry. Raiyden and Xaishen getting married and having kids. Yeah they actually had kids, Lyrae’a and I are aunts.  Raiys a council member on Alpheridies now and he spends his time between family and his duties.  Arten and Ayliah are getting married and having a kid themselves.

The crew is all but broken up and I think it’s okay. Xaishen and Raiyden have so much to do with a family. Lyrae’a and Alistere are doing whatever they do and of course Kheni, Neirov and everyone else have always kind of done their own thing. Tom went off with his Padawan though I think he was knighted by now. Tinocht and Sidhe found Tino’s mom and is living with her on Coruscant.

I can’t do the domestic thing, so I did the only thing I thought was best for me. I headed off Alpheridies and looked for something to do.  I ended up back in the Core and finding the Marran. It wasn’t on purpose really but I remember Nia saying she worked with them. Last I’d seen them was as my backside was retreating from Voss. I asked if they needed any extra hands and was told sure they’re in the middle of some stuff.

So… I signed on.

It’s been a couple of weeks now and I’ve helped here and there. I’m still getting to know people and it’s been a bit of a daunting task trying to understand people and work as a team.  It’s been even harder trying to fit in with a group and understand the dynamics of the crew. I’m used to a small five to eight man crew who know each other well enough that they can work as a team and draw upon one another without long discussion or chaos or something else to distract.

Things are… adjusting. It’s weird working without my brother. I’m having to adjust to the fact that I don’t have his bond to rely upon when I am in combat. It’s particularly difficult with droids- I can’t see them and Raiyden has always been able to through the force.  I admit, it was hard faking my way through a mission with the Archon and Arbiter Alasha.  The droids were the worst but I followed the Archon and did what I could to help out. I’m not sure what we were doing but I just did as I was told. I’m not used to doing missions following others orders.  I can do it though, I’ve done it before.

How to describe everybody would take too long. Everyone has been fairly welcoming and while it’s odd to work along side mandalorians- usually they’re trying to kill me- I find that most of them are fairly easy going, even if a little too serious. I’ve met my first Chiss and my first Anzat.  Their cultures and species are very fascinating and I want to learn more.

Nia’s getting married to one of the Chiss I met. He seems very temperamental, easily angered and very easily offended.  Which is weird cause Nia is none of those. Well except the temperamental.  But he has been polite and civil enough to me and he even spoke with my brother the few times I brought him up to the Marran ship. He likes to be called Steve but his name is Izi something something… too long to remember or pronounce. I kind of have the impression that Chiss names require the removal of ones tongue to properly pronounce.

Speaking of Nia she seems …different. I can’t quite put my finger on it but she seems older. She even let me hug her and that just seemed really odd to me. I’ve never hugged her before and while she stiffened up and acted like she wanted to throw me off of her, she let me hug her. Twice. It was just so surreal.  I hope she’s okay and I hope that whatever it might be is just my imagination or the long time I haven’t seen her. It’s been over a year.

Anyways, I should head to bed. I get to spend hours going through old Marran history  sometime tomorrow to find out what I missed and just how this team works. The more I know the better prepared I’ll be to work with the various people and to act accordingly. As it is, the Archon himself took me under his tutelage to ensure that I follow the laws of the group and make sure that I’m not going to muck things up.  I admit, he intimidates me- which is no mean feat, but he seems amicable enough and I really like Alasha. She’s been very helpful in making me feel welcome and to fit in.

 

Leave a Reply

