I feel the beating of your heart.

Her feet moved along the road, without direction or even an idea of where she wanted to go. The Miraluka really had no direction in mind, she had simply gotten up out of bed in the middle of the night and had left the Trinset estates in the middle of nowhere on Alderaan.

 

So far away from where you are
These miles have torn us worlds apart
And I miss you
Yeah, I miss you
So far away from where you are
Standing underneath the stars
And I wish you were here

The wind whistled through the trees carrying the scent of the native plants along on the nearly frigid winds. The smell of wet soil, pine like trees and the other scents of nature around her helped soothed her troubled soul. It was as if the gentle hand of her Goddess Ashla nudged her along, comforting her while the dark cloak of her God Bogan blanketed her, hiding her away from the things she didn’t feel she was ready to face.

They would not let her hide behind them no, but They would at least comfort her as much as They deemed necessary. She took solace in the fact that They could be a sword and shield as much as They could be a protector and comforter or They could be the ones who mete out justice and punishment.

Right now They comforted her and even though she was not at home, the God and Goddess were with her everywhere. Bogan had been with Caer when she had questioned the humanoid woman at the Trinsets city. Word had gotten out that this woman had worked for the man responsible for taking Xaishen and her brother Raiyden. Arten, Caer, Kheniath and Tomuraan had headed over as soon as possible to find out what they could about Raiydens and Xaishens disappearance some weeks ago . This woman, who had not given her name to anyone, even to the people who had arrested her, Caer had taken to calling Silver. Her hair was the color of the metal and the woman’s demeanor was about as cold as iced silver.

Bogan had assisted her through prayer in pulling the memories from the womans head and Caer had been none too gentle about it. Caer was certain that her brother would not have approved of it and Ashla knew that Arten had definitely not approved at all, but to Caer she felt that her Creator would know what He was doing and she wasn’t about to question that in the slightest.

Caer had no idea if she’d left anything intact in the woman’s head, and Caer didn’t particularly give a damn if she did or didn’t. She just wanted to find this man who had her brother and Xaishen and get them back.  They at least knew now thanks to Kheniath that the man who had them was potentially Drayviakki’s master and from there, they knew that this woman was also tied to Drays master. It was the closest they had to a solid lead in weeks.

I miss the years that were erased 
I miss the way the sunshine would light up your face
I miss all the little things I never thought that they’d mean everything to me
Yeah, I miss you
And I wish you were here

Caer wondered in a distractedly amused manner if anyone realized just how devoutly religious she was to her God and Goddess. She half wondered if even Raiyden knew. She believed mightily did she believe.  That was something she shared with Sharise and she shared it gladly. It had been her mentor that had shown her just what her people believed in and why. Where the God and Goddess aided and where they left one standing on their own to fight their own fights. They would never abandon one of Their own children, but They had no qualms what so ever about leaving a child of Their creation to find their footing.  The light and the dark side encompassed all and it gave harsh lessons as well as wondrous rewards.  It all came down to the simple fact that to abuse one or the other too greatly resulted in having a perception that would not be complete or worse, could cause ones own downfall.

Leaves rustled beneath her footfalls and the sound of a night bird of some sort rang through the air as she startled it with her presence. She shivered in the cold night air, her breath coming out in little puffs as she paused to listen some more to the night sounds around her.

Raiyden would have loved it out here. She could imagine him standing there with a serene expression on his face, head tilted up slightly, the silver hair framing his face rippling slightly in the chilly breeze.  His hands would be clasped behind his back and a meditative air would surround him.

I feel the beating of your heart
I see the shadows of your face
Just know that wherever you are
Yeah, I miss you
And I wish you were here

She could almost envision it as she stood there underneath Alderaans moon and likely wax philosophic to either her or Xaishen. He’d likely appreciate the effort they were all going through to get him back and appreciate the efforts that she was personally going through to ensure that he and Xaishen came back safely.

She slowly knelt in the damp and cold earth and folded her hands in her lap. She swallowed thickly past the lump in her throat as she forced herself to focus. She forced her breathing to steady and calm, her heart to slow just enough to be steady and sure like a drum beat.  Her voice a gentle whisper on the breeze.

“Mother and Father I seek your hand and heart to guide me. I seek your knowledge to stay my hand at my worst and to quicken my feet at my best. I beseech you to aid me in my quest to find the other half of my soul and to bring him back home to me. My light to the darkness, my whisper to the scream, my music to the dancers feet. Mother Ashla, Father Bogan I beg of you to grant me your light to guide my way and your shadow to keep me and mine safe. Open your Path to me so that I may seek your counsel.”

“You are not alone Daughter. You are never alone and you may seek our counsel any time.” The duality of the voices nearly startled her out of her meditations. “Walk the Path to us and let us sooth and strengthen your soul.”

She went to them gladly.

 

I miss the years that were erased
I miss the way the sunshine would light up your face
I miss all the little things
I never thought that they’d mean everything to me
Yeah, I miss you
And I wish you were here

So far away from where you are
These miles have torn us worlds apart
And I miss you
Yeah, I miss you
And I wish you were here

Leave a Reply

