Personal Journal Entry- Mirial.

<From the personal journals of Caer Estherian.>

Mirial is an intriguing planet. While I can’t see the way a regular person can, I can see the way it looks through the force.  It’s not what I would consider a very good vacation spot but I’m enjoying it immensely.

I’ve met Toms family and I admit, meeting them intimidated me. I had no idea how to react, and the second that Toms mother Seranad came out and hugged me, I had no idea what to think. Had Tom told them beforehand? Had Dyme told her? I just had no idea what to make of it. I opted to remain quiet and just introduce myself without saying anything. Honestly, I was a nervous wreck meeting his mother and I found myself unable to say much of anything. I felt completely unable to form coherent thought.

I know i just wanted to keep quiet because I was scared. Scared of saying the wrong thing or saying something I couldn’t take back. Not that I’d say anything bad, but something stupid. I knew I had a habit of saying something stupid when I meet new people and  all of a sudden it hit me hard that I was being trusted enough to meet his family.  I’ve not even met my own family and here I’m meeting his.

Toms and Dyme’s mother is a wonderful woman, very down to earth and so willing to make us smile. It’s obvious she is very proud of her children and what they do.  She cooks us good meals, all local and unique. I admit,  I’ve never tasted anything like it and I rather like it.   I hope I get to speak with her more, she seems like a very good natured woman.

Meeting Toms father was … a unique experience I will never forget. You just never expect to meet a guys father and have them throw a spear at my head.  I ended up sparring with Toms father for a while before he finally relented and made a proper introduction.  I was impressed with this giant mountain of a man. He was friendly and I could see myself warming up to him easily. He had an easy going nature like Tom and I could see where Tom got his personality from. I definitely look forward to speaking with the man more and learning what he has to say.

I also got to meet his brother Edghar. He is very serious and I can tell there is tension with him. He doesn’t seem to like us very much and he seems to be jealous of his siblings success. I wonder if the man realizes that Toms and Dyme’s success comes at such a heavy price.  He thinks they sacrificed their family to go out and have fun. He has no idea what kind of personal sacrifice that takes, or if he does… he doesn’t allow himself to see it.  Tom gave up his family for the Order, gave up his own personal freedoms to save those who can’t save themselves. It’s something I wouldn’t wish on anyone. Dyme gave up a lot of things to keep them safe. She gave up the ability to contact her family and even a lot of her friends so that if something ever happened, nobody would ever use her family against her. That takes a lot of soul searching, a lot of emotional sacrifice and I think Dyme has done a marvelous job of not letting that get to her.

I’m still marveling over the fact we all were allowed to get markings on our skin. Tomuraan took us up to their peoples temple to get their traditional markings plus we all got one that held deep personal meaning for the four of us. Thankfully I didn’t lose my cool, Raiy kept me distracted in my head and Tom was there as well. Dyme was talking to me and I was so sufficiently distracted I barely even noticed it was over.

I’m proud of it.  Proud of myself and I have to confess I am proud of all of us.

Part of me doesn’t want this to end in some way. That we could stay here, help out here and not face the rest of the galaxy. But Raiyden has to work with Xaishen and I have my own student to teach, not to mention out work as Luka Sene. Though Raiyden is called upon far more than I am. I’m merely checked in on and asked how I’m doing.  I pretty much get left to my own devices and that’s about that.

I think we’re going to where Toms father works tomorrow as a group. I’m not sure though. However, I should sleep seeing as everyone likes to rise early around here.

Leave a Reply

